Florida Massage License Information


For More Information go to http://floridamassagelicense.com/

For First Renewal

Licensees must complete one (1) hour of CE for each month or partial month that has elapsed since the issuance of the license for which renewal is sought, up to a maximum of 24 hours for the renewal period. The requirements are:

  • Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors
  • The remaining required hours may include courses on:
    • Communications with clients and other professionals;
    • Insurance relating to third party payment or reimbursement for services;
    • Psychological dynamics of the client-therapist relationship;
    • Risk management, including charting, documentation, record keeping, or infection control, or massage practice management;
    • Up to four (4) hours credit for adult cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) provided the course is sponsored by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or the American Safety and Health Institute, or is instructed by persons certified to instruct courses for those organizations.

All courses must be obtained through a Board of Massage Therapy Approved Provider. To view approved CE providers and courses, please visit the www.cebroker.com website.

For Renewal of License Following Your First Renewal

Every licensee must complete 24 hours of approved CE within the biennium for which they are claimed. The requirements are:

  • Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors
  • Two (2) hours of Florida Laws and Rules governing the Massage Therapy Act
  • Two (2) hours of Professional Ethics
    • The two hours of laws and rules and two hours of ethics can be met by attending four continuous hours of a Board of Massage Therapy meeting, if the licensee does not have a discipline or licensure matter on the agenda for the same day.
  • At least twelve (12) of the hours must be relevant to and focus on massage therapy techniques, which may include the history of massage, human anatomy & physiology, kinesiology and/or pathology.
    • These hours must be completed via live classroom instruction (including hands-on instruction or demonstration).
    • 6 of the live hours may be completed via performance of Pro Bono services pursuant to 64B7-28.0095, F.A.C.
  • The remaining hours may include courses on:
    • Communications with clients and other professionals;
    • Insurance relating to third party payment or reimbursement for services;
    • Psychological dynamics of the client-therapist relationship;
    • Risk management, including charting, documentation, record keeping, or infection control, or massage practice management
    • Up to four (4) hours credit for adult cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) provided the course is sponsored by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or the American Safety and Health Institute, or is instructed by persons certified to instruct courses for those organizations.

All courses must be obtained through a Board of Massage Therapy Approved Provider. To view approved CE providers and courses, please visit the